cover of book

'Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?': Joyce Carol Oates
edited by Elaine Showalter
Rutgers University Press, 1994
Paper: 978-0-8135-2135-0 | Cloth: 978-0-8135-2134-3 | eISBN: 978-0-8135-6029-8
Library of Congress Classification PS3565.A8W43 1994
Dewey Decimal Classification 813.54


Joyce Carol Oates’s prize-winning story “Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?” takes up troubling subjects that continue to occupy her in her fiction: the romantic longings and limited options of adolescent women; the tensions between mothers and daughters; the sexual victimization of women; and the American obsession with violence.  Inspired by a magazine story about a serial killer, its remarkable portrait of the dreamy teenager Connie has made it a feminist classic.  Connie’s life anticipates the emergence of American society from the social innocence of the fifties into the harsher contemporary realities of war, random violence, and crime.  The story was the basis for the movie Smooth Talk, which became the subject of much feminist debate.

This casebook includes an introduction by the editor, a chronology of Oates’s life, an authoritative text of “Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been,” an essay by Oates on Smooth Talk, the original Life article about the serial killer, ten critical essays (including two about the film), and a bibliography.

The contributors are Brenda O. Daly, Christina Marsden Gillis, Don Moser, Tom Quirk, B. Ruby Rich, R.J.R. Rockwood, Larry Rubin, Gretchen Schulz, Marie Mitchell Oleson Urbanski, Joyce M. Wegs, Marilyn C. Wesley, and Joan D. Winslow.


See other books on: 1938- | Fiction | Serial murders | Showalter, Elaine | Teenage girls
See other titles from Rutgers University Press
Nearby on shelf for American literature / Individual authors / 1961-2000: