Seven Modern American Poets: An Introduction
by Leonard Unger
University of Minnesota Press, 1967
Paper: 978-0-8166-6047-6


Seven Modern American Poets was first published in 1967. Minnesota Archive Editions uses digital technology to make long-unavailable books once again accessible, and are published unaltered from the original University of Minnesota Press editions.

This volume provides concise critical introductions to seven of the most important twentieth-century American poets, bringing together in convenient book form the material from some of the University of Minnesota Pamphlets on American Writers. The poets discussed and the contributing authors are Robert Frost by Lawrance Thompson, Wallace Stevens by William York Tindall, William Carlos Williams by John Malcolm Brinnin, Ezra Pound by William Van O'Connor, John Crowe Ransom by John L. Stewart, T.S. Eliot by Leonard Unger, and Allen Tate by George Hemphill.

Biographical information about the poets as well as critical discussions of their work is provided. A selected bibliography for each poet lists his works and critical and biographical writing about him.

In an introduction Mr. Unger, who is one of the editors of the pamphlet series, discusses the poets and their place in the development of modern American poetry. Mr. Unger is a professor of English at the University of Minnesota and the author of a number of critical works, including T. S. Eliot: Moments and Patterns.

Teachers, librarians, and others who use the material of the University of Minnesota Pamphlets on American Writers for frequent reference or as classroom texts will find this book particularly useful. It serves also as an excellent guide for the general reader.

See other books on: Introduction | Literary Criticism | Poetry | Unger, Leonard
See other titles from University of Minnesota Press
More to explore: Environmental Policy