cover of book

Selected Plays, Volume II
by August Strindberg
translated by Evert Sprinchorn
University of Minnesota Press, 2012
Paper: 978-0-8166-7974-4
Library of Congress Classification PT9811.A3S635 2012
Dewey Decimal Classification 839.726


This second volume of the great Swedish writer August Strindberg’s plays begins with To Damascus I (1898), the first of a trilogy. It mirrors his own departure from the naturalism he had explored in several of his earlier works, as he set forth on a spiritual odyssey. Crimes and Crimes (1899), from the beginning of his symbolist mode, is a lighter take on the themes in To Damascus I. The first of a two-part play, Dance of Death I (1900) depicts a dysfunctional marriage. A Dream Play (1901), which is one of Strindberg’s most influential, shows reality converted into a dream; many critics consider it his greatest play. In 1907, Strindberg founded the Intimate Theater in Stockholm; The Ghost Sonata (1907) and The Pelican (1907), which were written for its opening, are two examples of a chamber play, a genre that Strindberg helped to originate.

Nearby on shelf for Swedish literature / Individual authors or works / 19th century: