by Robert Browning
edited by Roma A. King Jr.
Ohio University Press, 1985
Cloth: 978-0-8214-0230-6 | eISBN: 978-0-8214-4028-5
Library of Congress Classification PR4201.K5 1969
Dewey Decimal Classification 821.8


The first complete edition of the works of Robert Browning with variant readings and annotations contains: 1. The entire contents of the first editions of Browning’s work; 2. All prefaces and dedications which Browning wrote for his own works and for those of Elizabeth Barrett Browning and others; 3. The two prose essays: The Essay on Chatterton and The Essay on Shelley; 4. The front matter and tables of contents of each of the collected editions (1849, 1863, 1865, 1868, 1888–1889) which Browning himself saw through the press; 5 Poems by Browning published during his lifetime but not collected by him; 9. Poems not published during Browning’s lifetime which have come to light since his death; 7. John Forster’s Thomas Wentworth, Earl of Strafford to which Browning contributed significantly, though to what precise extent has not been determined.

The edition provides a full apparatus, including variant readings and annotations.

See other books on: Annotations | Browning, Robert | Complete Works | Robert Browning | Variant Readings
See other titles from Ohio University Press