cover of book

The Universal Machine
by Fred Moten
Duke University Press, 2018
eISBN: 978-0-8223-7197-7 | Cloth: 978-0-8223-7046-8 | Paper: 978-0-8223-7055-0
Library of Congress Classification HT1581.M6846 2018

"Taken as a trilogy, consent not to be a single being is a monumental accomplishment: a brilliant theoretical intervention that might be best described as a powerful case for blackness as a category of analysis."—Brent Hayes Edwards, author of Epistrophies: Jazz and the Literary Imagination

In The Universal Machine—the concluding volume to his landmark trilogy consent not to be a single being—Fred Moten presents a suite of three essays on Emmanuel Levinas, Hannah Arendt, and Frantz Fanon in which he explores questions of freedom, capture, and selfhood. In trademark style, Moten considers these thinkers alongside artists and musicians such as William Kentridge and Curtis Mayfield while interrogating the relation between blackness and phenomenology. Whether using Levinas's idea of escape in unintended ways, examining Arendt's antiblackness through Mayfield's virtuosic falsetto and Anthony Braxton's musical language, or showing how Fanon's form of phenomenology enables black social life, Moten formulates blackness as a way of being in the world that evades regulation. Throughout The Universal Machine—and the trilogy as a whole—Moten's theorizations of blackness will have a lasting and profound impact.

See other books on: Black Studies (Global) | Critical Theory | Moten, Fred | Movements | Philosophy
See other titles from Duke University Press

Reference metadata exposed for Zotero via unAPI.