cover of book
 

Mountains Of Memory: A Fire Lookout'S Life
by Don Scheese
contributions by Wayne Franklin
University of Iowa Press, 2001
Paper: 978-0-87745-784-8 | eISBN: 978-1-58729-407-5 | Cloth: 978-0-87745-783-1
Library of Congress Classification SD421.375.S34 2001
Dewey Decimal Classification 634.93

ABOUT THIS BOOK | AUTHOR BIOGRAPHY | TOC | REQUEST ACCESSIBLE FILE
ABOUT THIS BOOK
In Mountains of Memory, seasoned wilderness dweller Don Scheese charts a long season of watching for and fighting fires in Idaho's River of No Return Wilderness&151the largest federal wilderness area in the mainland United States. An inspiring tale of self-discovery,Mountains of Memory paints a complex portrait of the natural, institutional, and historical forces that have shaped the great forested landscapes of the American West.

A student of nature writing as well as a fire lookout with over a decade of experience, Scheese recounts his life at the top of the world, along with daring adventures such as backpacking and mountaineering in the Bighorn Crags and kayaking down the Middle Fork of the Salmon River. All the while, he touches upon the mysterious and powerful realities of the wilderness around him and stunning dawns visible within the glass cage perched on a 9,000-foot mountain, stirring flashes of lightning visible all around the dark landscape as the radio crackles with reports of strikes observed and fires spotted, long-awaited trips down the mountain to civilization for cold beer and hot pizza.
In the tradition of Edward Abbey and Gary Snyder, Don Scheese offers readers a meditation on the meaning and value of wilderness at the beginning of the twenty-first century.

See other books on: Franklin, Wayne | Memory | Mountains | Plants | Trees
See other titles from University of Iowa Press

Reference metadata exposed for Zotero via unAPI.