cover of book
 

Adventures in Eating: Anthropological Experiences in Dining from Around the World
edited by Helen R. Haines and Clare A. Sammells
University Press of Colorado, 2010
eISBN: 978-1-60732-015-9 | Cloth: 978-1-60732-037-1 | Paper: 978-1-60732-014-2
Library of Congress Classification GT2850.A48 2010
Dewey Decimal Classification 394.1209

ABOUT THIS BOOK | AUTHOR BIOGRAPHY | TOC | REQUEST ACCESSIBLE FILE
ABOUT THIS BOOK
Anthropologists training to do fieldwork in far-off, unfamiliar places prepare for significant challenges with regard to language, customs, and other cultural differences. However, like other travelers to unknown places, they are often unprepared to deal with the most basic and necessary requirement: food. Although there are many books on the anthropology of food, Adventures in Eating is the first intended to prepare students for the uncomfortable dining situations they may encounter over the course of their careers.

Whether sago grubs, jungle rats, termites, or the pungent durian fruit are on the table, participating in the act of sharing food can establish relationships vital to anthropologists' research practices and knowledge of their host cultures. Using their own experiences with unfamiliar-and sometimes unappealing-food practices and customs, the contributors explore such eating moments and how these moments can produce new understandings of culture and the meaning of food beyond the immediate experience of eating it. They also address how personal eating experiences and culinary dilemmas can shape the data and methodologies of the discipline.


The main readership of Adventures in Eating will be students in anthropology and other scholars, but the explosion of food media gives the book additional appeal for fans of No Reservations and Bizarre Foods on the Travel Channel.



See other books on: Adventures | Dinners and dining | Eating | Food habits | Food preferences
See other titles from University Press of Colorado
Nearby on shelf for Manners and customs (General) / Customs relative to private life: