by Robert Browning
edited by David Ewbank, John Berkey, Paul Turner, Michael Bright and David Ewbank
contributions by Michael Bright, Paul Turner, John Berkey and David Ewbank
Ohio University Press, 2003
Cloth: 978-0-8214-1473-6 | eISBN: 978-0-8214-4193-0
Library of Congress Classification PR4201.K5 1969
Dewey Decimal Classification 821.8


In seventeen volumes, copublished with Baylor University, this acclaimed series features annotated texts of all of Robert Browning’s known writing. The series encompasses autobiography as well as influences bearing on Browning’s life and career and aspects of Victorian thought and culture.

Volume XIV of The Complete Works of Robert Browning records a transition in the poet’s career. With The Agamemnon of Aeschylus (1877), Browning ended his experiments with classical sources, creating his “transcript” — not quite a translation — of the Greek original and providing an intriguing explanation for his approach. La Saisiaz, the deeply personal expression of Browning’s shock at the sudden death of a dear friend, was published in 1878 with The Two Poets of Croisic, an extended ironic meditation on literary fame. Browning’s collection of six poems under the title Dramatic Idyls (1879) marks the poet’s return to the dramatic forms he perfected in Men and Women and Dramatis Personae, and a revival of his interest in the psychology of motives.

As always in this acclaimed series, a complete record of textual variants is provided, as well as extensive explanatory notes.

See other books on: Annotations | Browning, Robert | Complete Works | Robert Browning | Variant Readings
See other titles from Ohio University Press