by Rebecca Fischer
The Ohio State University Press, 2022
eISBN: 978-0-8142-8194-9 | Paper: 978-0-8142-5822-4
Library of Congress Classification ML418.F57A3 2022
Dewey Decimal Classification 787.2092

In The Sound of Memory, concert violinist Rebecca Fischer wrestles with the life of a performing artist in the twenty-first century, the physical and material components of memory, the nature of musical inheritance, and the gifts and pressures of a calling that runs generations deep. From memories of breastfeeding on concert tours, to the surprising ways her body remembers music she heard in the womb, to witnessing her children’s own evolving musicianship, Fischer shares her perspective as the first violinist of the renowned Chiara String Quartet and parent to young people exploring their gender identities amidst social upheaval and a pandemic. As she revisits geographies that have left marks on her life and creative practice over the years, she examines what we owe to our families, our communities, our art, and ourselves—ultimately exhorting us to consider both the individual and communal resonances of artistic expression and the meaning it brings to our shared lives.

See other books on: Memory | Sound | Themes | Violinists | Women Authors
See other titles from The Ohio State University Press