cover of book

The Philosophy of John Dewey: Volume 1. The Structure of Experience. Volume 2: The Lived Experience
by John Dewey
edited by John J. McDermott
University of Chicago Press, 1981
Paper: 978-0-226-14401-6
Library of Congress Classification B945.D41 1981b
Dewey Decimal Classification 191

John J. McDermott's anthology, The Philosophy of John Dewey, provides the best general selection available of the writings of America's most distinguished philosopher and social critic. This comprehensive collection, ideal for use in the classroom and indispensable for anyone interested in the wide scope of Dewey's thought and works, affords great insight into his role in the history of ideas and the basic integrity of his philosophy.

This edition combines in one book the two volumes previously published separately. Volume 1, "The Structure of Experience," contains essays on metaphysics, the logic of inquiry, the problem of knowledge, and value theory. In volume 2, "The Lived Experience," Dewey's writings on pedagogy, ethics, the aesthetics of the "live creature," politics, and the philosophy of culture are presented. McDermott has prefaced each essay with a helpful explanatory note and has written an excellent general introduction to the anthology.

See other books on: Dewey, John | History & Surveys | John Dewey | McDermott, John J. | Modern
See other titles from University of Chicago Press
Nearby on shelf for Philosophy (General) / By period / Modern: