edited by Eric Fure-Slocum and Claire Goldstene
contributions by Gwendolyn Alker, Sue Doe, Steven Shulman, Aimee Loiselle, Claire Raymond, Diane Angell, Miguel Juarez, Erin Hatton, Maria C Maisto, Anne Wiegard, William A Herbert, Joseph van der Naald, Jeff Schuhrke, Anne McLeer, Trevor Griffey, Steven Parfitt, Naomi R Williams, Jiyoon Park, Eric Fure-Slocum, Claire Goldstene, Gary Rhoades, Elizabeth Hohl, Elizabeth Tandy Shermer, Joe Berry and Helena Worthen
University of Illinois Press, 2024
Cloth: 978-0-252-04554-7 | eISBN: 978-0-252-05520-1 | Paper: 978-0-252-08765-3
Library of Congress Classification LB2334
Dewey Decimal Classification 378.120973

An educational crisis from its origins to present-day experiences

In the United States today, almost three-quarters of the people teaching in two- and four-year colleges and universities work as contingent faculty. They share the hardships endemic in the gig economy: lack of job security and health care, professional disrespect, and poverty wages that require them to juggle multiple jobs.

This collection draws on a wide range of perspectives to examine the realities of the contingent faculty system through the lens of labor history. Essayists investigate structural changes that have caused the use of contingent faculty to skyrocket and illuminate how precarity shapes day-to-day experiences in the academic workplace. Other essays delve into the ways contingent faculty engage in collective action and other means to resist austerity measures, improve their working conditions, and instigate reforms in higher education. By challenging contingency, this volume issues a clear call to reclaim higher education’s public purpose.

Interdisciplinary in approach and multifaceted in perspective, Contingent Faculty and the Remaking of Higher Education surveys the adjunct system and its costs.

Contributors: Gwendolyn Alker, Diane Angell, Joe Berry, Sue Doe, Eric Fure-Slocum, Claire Goldstene, Trevor Griffey, Erin Hatton, William A. Herbert, Elizabeth Hohl, Miguel Juárez, Aimee Loiselle, Maria C. Maisto, Anne McLeer, Steven Parfitt, Jiyoon Park, Claire Raymond, Gary Rhoades, Jeff Schuhrke, Elizabeth Tandy Shermer, Steven Shulman, Joseph van der Naald, Anne Wiegard, Naomi R Williams, and Helena Worthen